kariskhaos


This was not in the brochure!
July 31, 2011, 6:04 pm
Filed under: Parenting | Tags: ,

It is my 44th birthday today. I am embarking on a new adventure. Kari’s Kahos has be born. I am committing myself to one year of daily blogging. Many requests for me to write a book, or to teach a class on parenting, or for advice on various topics ranging from menu planning to trans-racial adoption as well as good friends just calling me to hear what is going on in my life so they can feel better about the relative calm in theirs has led me to this adventure.

Do you remember the movie City Slickers with Billy Crystal? He and two of his buddies go on this cattle drive. In the scene I am thinking of he is helping a cow give birth, he has his arm inside the cow’s uterus, is covered in dirt and he pulls out his hand slimed with blood and cow birth and screams “ This was not in the brochure”. I think parenting is a lot like that. In raising my four children I have thought to my self many times that same thing. Then I think, wait, what brochure?

20110730-055747.jpg

Parenting does not come with a brochure, and if it did it might be the best contraceptive ever! It is one of the most, if not the most important jobs we can do to contribute to our society and yet no brochure. You need a food handlers license, a drivers license, a degree to teach, a license for just about everything but parenting. I know there are plenty of reasons for this it just strikes me as a bit ironic.

This blog is not a brochure, it is however a compilation of humorous real life parenting stories and practical tools that have helped me to survive and at times thrive in this crazy, hard, wonderful, “this was not in the brochure” thing called parenting.

17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have said that very same thing MANY times, Kari! ” We have to have a license to drive a car, but not to have a baby!!!” Makes no sense to me…the frustration must come from my years of teaching kids who are seemingly unloved & uncared for. :o( I’m looking forward to reading you thoughts! :o)
Happy birthday!!!

Comment by Nancy

Nancy, thanks for taking the time to read this! Suggest it to some of those parents at school, maybe we can all make a difference. Xxxooo

Comment by Kari

Blessings friend! Can’t wait to be a part of your life EVERY day:)

Comment by Jensteigman

Thanks Jen, I love you and hope you will enjoy it. We are making our dreams come true!

Comment by Kari

Happy Birthday K3. BEst wishes for a year of love laughter and friendship.

Comment by Anonymous

Kathi I am assuming this was your comment but it says anonymous, put your name on it a subscribe to it please I love you

Comment by Kari

This will be a fun ride with you :0)…thank you!

Comment by Karie Malia Oswalt

This is awesome, Kari! And I love the graphic (who did it?!) I’ll be following every day…

My love to you.
Barb

Comment by Barb Stoefen

Thanks Barb! A friend of mine from our church in Rocklin Ca

Comment by Kari

Every day! That’s ambitious. Looking forward to riding along in your 41st year.

Comment by Anonymous

I am not sure who this is so let me know, but thanks and I did fix it on the blog but it is my 44th year not 41st and I really hope you will enjoy the ride

Comment by Kari

This is an amazing commitment, Kari – to add to all the other commitments you make for others; but this is for YOU, so I hope you really can keep it going. And when the year is up, it will be exciting to see the movie, read the book, or whatever else is up in your 45th year. I’m so proud of you and love you a ton! MaryEllen

Comment by Anonymous

Thanks MaryEllen! This is for me for sure and I am so happy you will join me

Comment by Kari

Kari! I am excited to see how this goes and to follow it. You are the bestest second mom I have (and a wonderful neighbor). Love you!

Comment by Kate

This will be a fun ride Kari! Happy Belated Birthday! P.S. Love the photo 😉 xoxo

Comment by Jana

Looking forward to the Blog, Kari! Happy Birthday!! Where did all of that time go? Enjoyed lunch with Kathi while we were in Maine last week. I trust all is now well. My love, Aunt Kathy

Comment by Anonymous

44? And to think that we met when we were 17! How lucky I am to have had you for a friend all these years! Happy birthday, and I look forward to reading your blog and feeling closer to you despite the physical distance. (Of course I am 44, too — how did that happen?) Love ya, Kari!

Kimmy

Comment by Anonymous




Comment here!

