kariskhaos


You is kind, you is smart, you is important
August 16, 2011, 6:00 am
Filed under: books, love, Parenting, social justice, Teenagers | Tags: , ,

‘And then she say it, just like I need her to. “You is kind,” she say, “You is smart. You is important.”‘ from the book and movie The Help. If you have a chance to see the movie go, If you can read the book, read it, if you do not have the time to do either, please remember this quote and raise your children to know it as well. I know we have all heard that for every negative comment or remark we share, it takes seven positive to counteract the impact of that one negative. One of my favorite scenes is from the movie Pretty Woman. Vivian is telling her story of how she became a hooker. It is in her brutal honesty of the moment, that she admits the ‘bad’ stuff people say is easier to believe. How true this is for me as well.

The tapes that run in my head, are not of all the wonderful things people have said about me, but the negative crap that reminds me I am no good. How could I possibly have anything to say that people would want to hear, I am an uneducated, unemployed mother of four. I can not possibly have anything of value to offer. These are the words that stick with me, and I know I am not alone. Stop the tape, rewind, and record over with; You is kind, You is smart, You is important. You are awesome! You are amazing and everyday you are alive, good things happen.

As a parent, I believe the most important gift I can give my child is belief in themselves. Everyday, my goal needs to be, to go out of my way, to lift my kids up. Just as you can not touch, or hug, or love an infant too much, you can not raise a child that has too much inner self-confidence. Too cocky, too full of themselves, yes, but not too much inner self-confidence. So much of my fears that I will raise kids who are obnoxious or over confident, stem from my own issues of self, that I end up imposing on my kids. Stop the cycle, tell your kids everyday in different ways; you is kind, you is smart, you is important.

In my teenage years I really struggled with self image and self value. I know that it is common and part of growing up, but how much pain could be avoided if we trained our children from the moment they could talk to be able to articulate these truths; You is kind, you is smart, you is important.

20110815-101548.jpg

20110815-101449.jpg

20110815-101431.jpg

20110815-101424.jpg

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Kari, so true!! Just to add you are super amazing & inspiring!!

Comment by Cathy Walther

Cathy, thank you so much for your comments and support, in appreciate it and pray for you and your two jobs and kids starting school, remember to take care of you

Comment by Kari

….you is a writer, and you is touching people with your words.

Comment by Jane

jane,

Thank you so much! Positive words of affirmation I will record for a later date!

Comment by Kari




Comment here!

