kariskhaos


What have we done?

We were on our way home from McMinnville, traveling for the first time as a family of six. Scott and I had returned from Liberia with John and Christian. We had spent a week at Scott ‘s parents home, gone to doctor appointments, had time with extended family, and now were on our way back to California. We had a big red 1979 suburban. All the kids were still in carseats so we had four, huge seats, two in each row. We loaded up and set off on our first road trip. Two four-year olds, a five-year old and a six-year-old. I turned around to make sure everyone was situated and had this “Oh my, what have we done?” feeling go thru my brain.

I think it was the first time I had allowed my self the time to process the fact that we had just doubled our family. We now had four beautiful children, but did I just say four? Who were we to think we could do this? Who were we to raise these kids? Who was I to think it would be some grand adventure? What have we done?

We stopped at Scott’s cousins home half way through the drive. They wanted to meet Christian and John, and we did not want to push too hard with all of us traveling together for the first time. The plan was we would stop by, feed the kids, go potty and then get back on the road. The two older daughters had toys out for the kids, we had a something to drink, they made John and Christian some rice, and Jessie and Isaac had cinnamon toast.

When it was time to leave, we asked Isaac to go tell his brothers it was time to go, and to help them clean up. Isaac loved being in charge, and loved to clean up(what happened to that trait, I have no idea). He found John and Christian in the living room playing marbles, Isaac made the clean up announcement, and started to pick up the marbles. In the wink of an eye, both Christian and John jumped Isaac, and started to pummel him. We walked in to find them both on top of Isaac hitting him while he was confused and crying. What have we done?

We quickly separated the three, and Isaac (who was just trying to help), looked up at me with innocent eyes, pleading for an explanation of what had just happened. John and Christian did not look in the least bit sorry, and were holding onto the remaining marbles as if there lives depended on it. What have we done? Will we survive this? How do we make this okay for all three? Isaac ran into my arms, and John and Christian looked at Scott and I with defiance, and a bit of fear. I was flabbergasted, I was torn, and I had no idea what to do. Scott, with his quick thinking mind, realized that John and Christian thought Isaac was stealing the marbles from them. They did what they knew from Africa, defend, protect, and fight for your stuff. He enfolded both of them in his arms and tried to soothe their anger.

Looking back on it now, they all laugh. Isaac loves that he was the innocent one for once, and John and Christian are amazed they were that strong. They tease each other and it seems there are no permanent scars on any of them. Siblings fight, they get in each others face and space. What had we done? We had begun to become a family.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You guys are awesome Kari! I would like to meet your family one of these days! Let me know next time you are in town

Comment by Anonymous

I would love to, but its hard to contact you if you are anonymous! Thanks for reading the blog!

Comment by Kari

Hi Kari! Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog! Yes, I’ll link you on mine when I get a chance to update it again – am off to the coast at 6:30 tomorrow morning to paint at the Aquarium in Newport! Not excited to wake up at 5:30, but looking forward to painting jellyfish & maybe even an OTTER! Enjoy reading you blog!! see you Saturday 🙂 xoxo

Comment by Jana




Comment here!

