kariskhaos


Whimsical Wednesday: Just off the freeway
September 21, 2011, 6:00 am
Filed under: blessings, love, nature, Parenting, travel | Tags: , , ,

This weeks Whimsical Wednesday is a journey to Silver Falls, State Park in Oregon. Scotty and I took a day away from the kids and jumped in our mini cooper to go for a hike and to see some friends have their twins baptized. I have lived in Oregon for over ten years. My husband’s parents live in Amity, Oregon. We have traveled by the sign to this beautiful place every time we go to or from their home. I had never been there.

How often do we miss special places, wonderful views, historical memories because we don’t want to get off the freeway and go a little out of our way. I have friends who grew up just outside of New York City, who have never been to the Statue of Liberty. Others who live in the Puget Sound and have never been on a Ferry boat. It is a sad but true fact all around our beautiful country. We travel miles and miles, spend money to go to exotic scenery and miss what is within our own backyard.

I live in a beautiful place. There are mountains, rivers, places to hike, bike, kayak, ski and more. I love living here, and am thankful every day for the beauty the nature around me provides. This is why I do not understand why I am reluctant to get off the road and check someplace out. I do not have the time, I do not have the right clothes on, we have places to be and people to see.

Last Sunday, with no sporting events to attend, on a beautiful crisp day, we decided to check out this gem of a state park, 15 minutes off the busy road. Since I have been home I posted these same pictures on Facebook. I found out a friend of mine not only got engaged there but had their wedding in the park as well. We were blessed to witness a baptism, and learned that this has been a special place for many through the years.

We will return and do more hikes, and witness the falls when they are at their peak in the spring and hopefully in the quiet winter when they are frozen or just trickling. Scott and I reconnected, got exercise and lost ourselves in the beauty of the mossy trees and sounds of running water. We held hands and talked about things other than our kids and our schedule.

There are little places like this all over, I know there are some more close to me. Will you share with us your favorite, or perhaps will you finally stop at that one you have been blowing by for years? I’d love to hear about it, maybe together we can encourage each other to get off the highway and be whimsical once more.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I flew half way ’round the globe to visit the Eiffel Tower, but never saw Yosmite living just a few hours from there for nearly forty years. Now In Bend now for twenty, have never left the road to even eyeball Smith Rock, let alone climb anything!

Comment by Barb Stoefen

so sad but so true about so many of us!! love you Barb

Comment by Kari




Comment here!

