kariskhaos


Strong Women and Strong Men

We need to teach our daughters the difference between a man who flatters her, and a man who compliments her …. a man who spends money on her, and a man who invests in her …. a man who views her as property, and a man who views her properly ….. a man who lusts after her, and a man who loves her ….. a man who believes he is God’s gift to women, and a man who remembers a woman was God’s gift to man.

This was a quote a friend posted on Facebook yesterday. I have been thinking about Jessie and her first year in high school. Homecoming will be the first of many dances, special occasions, and opportunities for dating. Our boys have pretty much avoided it so it has not come up that much. This year it will. I think about this quote and I almost want to reverse it.

We need to teach our sons, by example, and lifestyle that woman are not objects. Girls are not toys and not ‘things to be owned”. How do I allow my sons to talk to me, what roles are they seeing my husband doing around the house? Will they leave my home knowing how to treat someone else’s daughter with respect and honor? Have we raised not only a strong daughter, but sons who are equally as strong and confident to be tender?

It seems we often put the emphasis on the girls. I am all for that, and believe we have raised a daughter who is strong, confident and very aware of her worth. I wonder at times if we have spent enough time and energy helping our boys become strong men, that someone would want to date. Scotty has been a wonderful parent and role model, and tackled this subject in many different ways with our boys. I grew up with sisters, and have no real understanding of what it is to be a teenage boy. Scott has taken this role seriously, and I am thankful. His sense of humor and integrity have gone a long way to in grain in our boys what is right.

Still, as mother to these three boys, I am aware I play an important part in this as well. Soon, I will take each of the boys on a date with me. I will coach them on manners and conversation and where their eyes should be looking. We will laugh and they will feel awkward and I will too. I will do it anyway. I will talk about sex, and other embarrassing things, it will be hard but I will do it anyway. When my boys joke about making their wife do all the work, or compare a cheerleaders boobs to something inappropriate, I will laugh and then nail them with my mothers evil eye and let them know it is not okay.

We need to teach our daughters and our sons how all people should be treated. We need to raise strong women, strong men and respectful human beings.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks Kari. I’ve forward your post both my kids today.

Comment by Barb Stoefen

Cool idea Kari – Have fun on your dates!

Comment by Jana




Comment here!

