kariskhaos


My mom says some days are like that

Reaching for the kleenex this morning while holding onto my dog Gus I fell off the chair and went sprawling on the kitchen floor. My butt is bruised, I do not know whether to laugh or to cry and I can tell its going to be one of those days.

It has already been a crazy week with the kids having homecoming and all the preparations for it. Isaac’s date wants them to match. She sent me a picture of her dress, with a conversation that it is an iridescent silver with purple undertones. No problem. Isaac decides on a silver shirt and I am to find the perfect purple tie. After fifteen stores and three times that many dresses tried on, we find THE dress. Jessie’s date also needs some help in the dressing department so I am searching for two ties. Two returns later, we are set for Jessie and I think for Isaac. He loves the tie I chose (read major miracle) and sends a picture to his date. Well, actually she texts back, we decided the dress is Cornflower Blue not purple and could you just get a plain black tie?

Tuesday, Scott has an interview for a good job in a town two and half hours away. This (as I blogged earlier in the week) is a very complicated blessing and my nerves are running on a pretty tight string, as the bills come in and the ‘extra’ money I make by cooking meals is literally being eaten up with running a household of six.

Wednesday is John’s sixteenth birthday. I want it to be special. I want him to be honored and blessed. Jessie has a soccer game, I have both of my girls on Wednesdays, Christian brings a friend home with him from early release. We have a Skype session planned with my parents to give John an amazing gift from them and the chaos mounts. My mom and dad cant get the sound to work on their computer so we have to yell, then call them on the phone so we hear them in echo and have no idea what they are hearing. John who is not much for emotion (read never shows any emotion) responds to a trip to San Diego to see the Ravens play the Chargers with the excitement of an additional homework assignment. Totally John. Totally pisses me off.

I go to bed early after being very snippy with my wonderful husband. This morning Christian, who had been playing video games while I was still up, realizes he has a vocabulary quiz the next day but I am not able to help him as I have gone to sleep. When I make him six scrambled eggs this morning he mentions this fact, while asking what is for dinner.

Gus has an ear infection and walks around the house shaking his head like a crazy man who is trying to force the brilliant idea he has out of his brain. Reaching for the kleenex this morning while holding onto my dog Gus I fell off the chair and went sprawling on the kitchen floor. My butt is bruised, I do not know whether to laugh or to cry and I can tell its going to be one of those days. My mom says some days are like that.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love that description of John’s excitement level. I will be excited for him – AWESOME gift!!!

Comment by Alissa

yea, was kinda hoping for the kid going to disney land response but it is John and he was actually very responsive throughout the day… Thanks for reading!

Comment by Kari




Comment here!

