kariskhaos


Sunday Blessing: Happy Birthday Christian!

My Sunday Blessing today October 30th, is Christian Jacob Johnson. It is his 15th birthday today. I was trying to find a way to capture his essence and give you a picture of the fun, charming, smart man he is. “The Sound of Music” is an old musical that I watched as a child every year for as long back as I can remember. For those of you that have never seen this classic at least look up the music to this song and sing along with “How do you solve a problem like Maria?” and substitute the following words. It will life your spirits and give you a glimpse of the amazing conundrum my son Christian is.

How do you Solve a Problem like Christian?

He climbs a tree and scrapes his knee
His shirt is never tucked in
He jives on his way to Class
And whistles on the stair
And underneath his helmet
He has the indent of the inside in his hair
I even heard him singing in the shower

He’s always late for school
But his penitence is real
He’s always late for everything
Except for every meal
I hate to have to say it
But I very firmly feel
Christian is an asset to the Family

I’d like to say a word in his behalf
Christian makes me laugh

How do you solve a problem like CJ?
How do you catch a cloud and pin it down?
How do you find a word that means Christian?
A flibbertijibbet! An amazing athlete! A clown!

Many a thing you know you’d like to tell him
Many a thing he ought to understand
But how do you make him stay
And listen to all you say
How do you keep a wave upon the sand

Oh, how do you solve a problem like Christian?
How do you hold a moonbeam in your hand?

When I’m with him I’m confused
Out of focus and bemused
And I never know exactly where I am
Unpredictable as weather
He’s as flighty as a feather
he’s a darling! he’s a demon! he’s a lamb!

He’d outpester any pest
Drive a hornet from its nest
He could throw a whirling dervish out of whirl
He is gentle! He is wild!
He’s a riddle! He’s a child!
He’s a headache! He’s an angel!
He’s a boy!

How do you solve a problem like CJ?
How do you catch a cloud and pin it down?
How do you find a word that means ?
A flibbertijibbet! An amazing athlete! A clown!

Many a thing you know you’d like to tell him
Many a thing he ought to understand
But how do you make him stay
And listen to all you say
How do you keep a wave upon the sand

Oh, how do you solve a problem like Christian?
How do you hold a moonbeam in your hand?

For an adopted child from Liberia he is the quintessential American asking for Bacon Cheese Burgers, Tator-Tots and Apple Pie for his birthday dinner! How do you love a boy like Christian? With a smile, a laugh, patience and beef! I do love you so much Christian, Happy Birthday! Here are 15 great pictures of my awesome 15 year old

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Holy Cow, he is handsome, gorgeous, precious! You are a beautiful poet, Kari.

Comment by Anonymous

Thanks, I think he is pretty good looking myself!

Comment by Kari




Comment here!

