kariskhaos


Whimsical Wednesday’s presents: Otterly Adorable
November 16, 2011, 12:13 pm
Filed under: blessings, humor, love, nature, Parenting, pets, travel | Tags: , , , , ,

picture by jana johnson

Whimsical Wednesdays: Otters


When I was in 7th grade, oh about 30 years ago I went to the Pt Defiance Zoo in Tacoma Washington. There were two sea otters playing. They had so much fun just being alive, swimming and chasing each other, coming up to the window and floating on their backs and thus began my love and obsession with Otters. I then saw the third otter with her baby on her belly and it was a done deal, otters were my thing. In the 70’s there was not much around for art or stuffed animals when it came to otters. I would look everywhere for anything that resembled these wonderful creatures I had adopted as my life mascot.

My mom, bless her heart has a hard time telling the difference between otters and seals and has often given me a card or a figurine of a seal. Otters are easier to find these days and through my thirty year collection I have a plethora of otter paraphernalia. I have literally hundreds of otter stuffed animals, figurines, cards, books, pictures, otter earings pins and a necklace my in-laws had specially made for me. T-shirts, pj’s, sweatshirts, hats and even a neck warmer. It is a bit out of control but I love every one!!

“Otters have long, slim bodies and relatively short limbs, with webbed paws. Most have sharp claws on their feet, and all except the sea otter have long muscular tails. The twelve species range in adult size from 0.6 to 1.8 metres (2 to 6 feet) in length and 1 to 45 kilograms (2.2 to 100 pounds) in weight. The Oriental small-clawed otter is smallest otter species and the giant otter and sea otter are the largest. They have a very soft, insulated underfur which is protected by an outer layer of long guard hair. This traps a layer of air, and keeps them dry and warm under water.
Otters are playful animals and appear to engage in various behaviors for sheer enjoyment.” ~ wickipedia

Friends and family notice otters and think of me. They send me a card, or a picture they took in Alaska or Monterey Bay where they saw these amazing creatures in person. I love river otters, but I tend to think sea otters are just a bit cuter. If I could I would build an environment in my back yard where I could have an otter for a pet. My favorite otter I have is a large piece that sits on a log at the entry to my house. “Ollie” is my special greeter who holds seasonal flowers and makes you smile as you enter my home!

I love otters and I love that I have a special mascot for life that reminds me not to take things too seriously. Otters are loving mom’s and full of mischief and antics that make me glad that people think of me when they see them. They also make for good puns; “love one an otter” “You otter wash your hands” Otterly adorable!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Comment here!

