kariskhaos


Reading and Christmas, it does not get better than that!

The books are all in the window, displayed so they can be easily reached and read. There are old favorites and new discoveries and just the sight of them makes my heart feel good. They are Christmas books. I have given our family one every year beginning with Scott and my first Christmas together as a married couple. I have the classics like A Christmas Carol, The Night Before Christmas, and of course Dr. Seuss’s How the Grinch Stole Christmas. I have pop up books and ones so beautifully illustrated no words are needed. I have chapter books, and silly ones too. It is the best of all worlds coming together in my favorite holiday and my favorite pass time. Reading and Christmas, it does not get better than that!

Hannah, the five-year old sister of two-year old Lila whom I have the honor to be a nanny for during the week was at our home yesterday. Her sister was napping and we had some precious time just the two of us. She ran to the book display and grabbed her two favorites. “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” by Dr Seuss and “Dream Snow” by Eric Carle. My kids were home from school too and so we chose the living room to read as the boys were playing PS3 in the family room. Jessie had a friend over and they were doing homework in the kitchen.

I started to read, “Every Who down in Who-ville Liked Christmas a lot…But the Grinch Who lived just north of Who-ville Did NOT!” As I was finishing the first sentence Jessie had stopped doing her homework and was listening, I got through four pages and Christian had sat down next to Hannah and me and was reading out loud along with me. Hannah snuggled in tight and we finished the book with an audience of teenagers happily listening along.

There is a magic here, a comfort in the telling of stories we have heard before and the delight of sharing it with someone for the first time. They say that Christmas brings out the kid in all of us. I have heard that no matter how old, tall, cool, rich, poor, male or female, right-wing, left-wing, or no wing at all, a good book at Christmas read through a child’s eyes makes all of our hearts grow at least three sizes. That my friends, is a very good thing.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is so true. The love of books and a Christmas Tradition. what could be better.
Kathi

Comment by kflaker

I agree, we must be related!

Comment by Kari

“They say that Christmas brings out the kid in all of us. I have heard that no matter how old, tall, cool, rich, poor, male or female, right-wing, left-wing, or no wing at all, a good book at Christmas read through a child’s eyes makes all of our hearts grow at least three sizes. ”

So true!! Every year I unpack the same Christmas books/stories we have read since the C was born, and every year when I start reading, the house quiets and I am flanked by my little girls in almost grown bodies.

Great post!

Comment by Transitioning Mom

Thanks for the props. It is so fun to be kids with your kids!

Comment by Kari




Comment here!

