kariskhaos


OH MY GOD THESE ARE GOOD!

So I bought six pomegranates at Costco after receiving one as a gift and trying it for the first time. I loved it and so did the kids. It was a messy thing that is for sure. So after cleaning up the stains from two of them all over the kitchen,my clothes, the kids clothes and a few spots on the dog I gave another one away and was kinda discouraged about what to do with the last three. They are beautiful and I could have used them as decoration but I wanted to use the fruit and I had gotten the look from my husband that said “why the heck did you buy all these Pomegranates?” I decided to look on-line and see if I could find a good recipe and a better way to get the seeds out of this funky fruit.

Of course the World Wide Web did not fail me and I was shown how to open a pomegranate with a video and I found this amazing recipe for chocolate covered pomegranate seeds. I am not one to share recipe’s and I rarely find one I am excited about but this was so easy and soooo good I thought it would be cruel and unkind of me not to share. You will want to add it to your permanent Holiday Treats.

If you do not know how to get the seeds out of a pomegranate save your self from stains, stress and swearing by watching a video like I did. The rest is as easy as melting chocolate, folding in the seeds, plopping spoonfuls on the tray and OH MY GOD THESE ARE GOOD! I was rather impatient (I know this is hard for you to believe about me) and did not let the seeds dry thoroughly so mine did not turn out quite as pretty as the picture but they are so good nobody will care!

2 large pomegranates

1 (12 ounce) bag semi-sweet chocolate chips

wax paper

Directions:
Refrigerate the pomegranates (not required, but it helps).

Remove all the seeds and place them in a colander.

Gently rinse the seeds, then lay them out on paper towels to let them dry.

Melting the chocolate: put the chocolate chips in a glass container (I’d use my big 4-cup Pyrex measuring thingy) and microwave them until they’re melted, stirring occasionally; don’t overdo it, though- you don’t want the chocolate to burn or get tough.

Add the pomegranate seeds to the melted chocolate (making sure the seeds are not wet on the surface, or else the chocolate can seize) and fold gently with rubber spatula until the seeds are thoroughly covered, then spoon out globs of the mixture, whatever size you like, on to the wax paper.

Place the wax papered cookie sheet in the refrigerator and let the chocolate-covered seeds cool overnight (or for as long as you can stand before tasting them).

Keep refrigerated they should keep for 3-4 days, at least, although I doubt they’ll last that long once you taste them.

Enjoy!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

YUM!

Comment by Transitioning Mom




Comment here!

