kariskhaos


The beginning of the end, of the beginning.
January 19, 2012, 11:54 pm
Filed under: back to school, blessings, humor, Parenting, Teenagers | Tags: , , , ,

She handed me the list as I dashed out the door. The meeting had gone a bit over and I had too much to do before Lila arrived to stay. I looked down at the names in front of me, and I personally knew six, out of the nine. I ran to my car as it was pouring rain. I jumped in got the heat going and again glanced at the list. Deep breath, I would be mentoring nine juniors this year.

I put the car in gear, and drove away from the high school in a stunned daze. How did this happen? It took long enough. Wow this is my son’s class. This is real. Where did all the time go? When will he really be out of the house? My mind was in over drive, swinging the pendulum from elation to devastation, and back.

This is the third year I have volunteered at the Bend High School future center. As parents we get the opportunity to come along side juniors and help them navigate through the whole idea of whats next. We help them find a college, set goals, get on a timeline and encourage the process. We also get to help those that are not college bound, those that may need more practical help, like how to apply for a job, or exploring what they can do without a college degree. It is overwhelming, and wonderful, and I just love it.

This is my son Isaac’s junior year, it is his classmates and friends I will be helping. When I first chose to volunteer it was for this very reason. I wanted to know what it took to get your kids to college. I wanted to be informed, and participate in the future of our students. I wanted the inside scoop on scholarships, and the daunting task of helping your child find his wings to take the next step. Now I want to go back to cutting stars and painting rainbows.

Not really, I love where my family is at, and since I take care of a two-year old, five days a week, I get my baby time. Still, it hit me fresh when I looked at the list. This is the beginning of the end, of the beginning.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I totally get it. When Annie graduated from high school I remember thinking, “how can we be here already?!”

With my HR background, sounds like volunteer work I might be interested in…

Comment by Barb Stoefen

🙂 🙂

Comment by Kari




Comment here!

