kariskhaos


Whimsical Wednesdays: The Journey to Becoming Hugz The Clown and Beyond Part One: Go To College
January 25, 2012, 8:26 pm
Filed under: college, humor, love, Parenting | Tags: , , ,

Whimsical Wednesdays: The Journey to Becoming Hugz The Clown and Beyond

Part One: Go To College

My family is steeped in education. My dad has his doctorate in chemistry, my mom her masters in education, my sister Kathi has two masters, one in chemical education, and one in adult education, and my other Kristi has her doctorate of psychology. Steeped even seems a bit understated at this point. I was different, I was confused and disliked anything that caused me to think inside a box. Math, Science, and history were torture. I lived for drama class and english. In those two area’s I could create. I of course had no idea that was what I was looking for I just knew failure was not an option, and college was where I was headed.

My family is wonderful, and they said the right things. Whatever you want to do Kari is fine with us. If you don’t want to go to college, that is okay, but what will you do? What my 17-year-old ears, heart and brain heard is Go to college, even if you have no clue what you want to do, go to college, figure it out while you are at college, but go to college, unless you want to be a total loser with no life. GO TO COLLEGE.

I found a small liberal arts college in the even smaller town of Elkins, West Virginia. It had a great drama program, was far enough away that no one would visit me un announced, and there was only one math class required. Davis and Elkins College seemed as good a fit as anything else, so off I went. I actually really enjoyed college, I liked the freedom, I loved having the choice of only taking classes that interested you and meeting new people had always been easy for me.

I was no further in my direction of what I might do with my life but I was having fun and maybe even learning a bit. The summer between my freshman and sophomore year I chose to be a camp counselor for a ministry that traveled across Europe with junior and senior high school age students. We stayed in camp grounds and put on shows based on the Gospel to share God’s love. You could choose one of four disciplines to be a part of; drama, singing, puppetry or clowning. I knew I could act, singing was second nature so it was puppets or clowning, for whatever reason the idea of clowning appealed to me. I had no clue that my life’s course had just been changed.

Stay tuned for next weeks Whimsical Wednesday: Part Two: Falling In Love

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Comment here!

