kariskhaos


A kiss is still a kiss

Twenty five years ago when I was in a long distance relationship with my boy friend who is now my husband, communication was a lot different. We would have to wait till after 11:00 pm to talk on the land line phone because it was cheaper that way. I would write him at least twice a week, on actual paper, then mail it by what is now termed snail mail. He was on a different time zone, and more than once I fell asleep with the phone to my ear.

Looking back at this it makes me feel old for the first time. I seriously have been the one that looks at everyone else, and is sure, that they are older than me. I still laugh about the good ole’ days and do not realize that I am now a part of that. I grew up with rotary dial phones, pre-computers, and when electric typewriters were the gift of choice for graduates. Camera’s still had film and the dream of instant communication was still a dream.

My husband and I are now in a long-distance relationship again. He is gone Sunday afternoon until Friday night. Thank God for all the changes in technology. We face time every night, we text and e-mail throughout the day. I know that at any given time if their was an emergency I could get in touch with him in a matter of minutes. Say what you will about the burden of technology, I am one happy woman.

Scott can see his kids faces every day, he can hear their voices, and even give them the evil eye when he in not physically present. We have come a long way. I do not have to wait till after 11:00 pm, the phone does not have a cord, and though I can not spray my e-mail with my perfume I can send him a picture to his cell phone in the middle of the day for no other reason than I miss him.

It does not make it easy, but, it does make it easier. I do not like it, but I love the improvements. I did not walk five miles up hill both ways to school, but I did write letters, and wait for film to be developed to see if it was a good picture or not. I do not think of my self as old, but I am aware that I am not as young as I used to be. Change continues, technology is fast, and I get to see my husband in person tomorrow. The sweetness of that first kiss after a separation will never change, and that is a good thing.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Comment here!

