kariskhaos


Whimsical Wednesday’s: The Journey to Becoming Hugz the Clown and Beyond, part 4; Family, Confetti and Clown College
February 15, 2012, 12:55 pm
Filed under: college, entertainment, humor, love, Parenting | Tags: , , , , , ,

Whimsical Wednesday’s: The Journey to Becoming Hugz the Clown and Beyond,
part 4; Family, Confetti and Clown College

It was Christmas Eve and our family was on our way to the late service. My mom likes to make sure we get their early so we for sure have a seat. Dropping a bomb, like the fact that I was going to drop out of college and run away and join the circus, at Christmas, with all the family around, was a calculated move to protect myself. I knew my sisters would stand up for me and my parents would be in good moods.

It is not that I thought they would not support me. My Parents are amazing people and I knew that they would say the right things. I also knew that I was the “worrisome” child and this would give more fuel for the fire. Then there was the fact that this is not a ‘normal’ career choice for anyone, let alone a middle-class, educated, young woman. Oh yea, and the money they poured into my first two years of college that would be wasted if I chose to drop out.

At first I do not think they believed me, then I think they were a bit in shock. Then the question of what will you do with your life? Will you go back to college? Is it really a school? My dad did some research and justified it in his head by seeing it as a trade school, like beauty school or auto mechanic’s. He also found out how hard it is to get into and I think he might have been so supportive because he like me, did not think I would be accepted. My mom was curious, tentatively supportive and as always the peacemaker of the family working hard to be sure we were all happy and getting along.

It was a long Winter and Spring as I waited for the answer. It would come in the mail in June. It would be sent to my house, as I would be home from college for the Summer. I went back and forth from convincing myself I did not care, to knowing I would be devastated if I did not get in. The envelope arrived with the Clown College Logo. I held it, shook it, and prayed whatever it said I would be okay.

I ripped it open and yanked out the letter. Confetti went everywhere. I started to cry and to scream and to freak out. The confetti could only mean one thing. I was going to Clown College! Below is a scanned copy of the letter I received, even when I pulled it out the envelope just now, there was still confetti left. What kind of school takes the time to put confetti in your acceptance letter? I was soon to find out. Clowning was serious business.

Orientation would start would start August 3 and classes August 5th. The next information I received gave me a slight inkling of what I had gotten myself into. “Classes will begin on Wednesday, August 5th, at 8:00am. This year, we will be offering courses in Character Development, Pantomime, Improvisation, Acrobatics, Arena Choreography, Clowning, Stilt Walking, Costuming, Props, Make-Up, Unicycling, and juggling. The evening sessions will be geared toward “passive” learning, with films, videos and guest lecturers. Classes are held Monday through Saturday from 8:00am until 10:00pm. (Don’t worry, we do break for lunch and dinner!) Graduation night, “THE WORLD’S FUNNIEST FINAL EXAM”, will be Friday evening, October 9th, and your friends and family are invited.”

Next week: Part 5, Clown College and the ten hardest weeks of my life.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Comment here!

