kariskhaos


Strong Communicators

Communication is both a gift, and a learned trait. My children who all claim to be poor writers are actually amazing. One of my favorite things that John has ever written was a poem about himself in 2008, when he was in sixth grade. Every time I read it I get chills. Christian has also penned some good stuff but he is unwilling to let me share it yet. Isaac’s best communication is in his timing in telling jokes and his delivery. He has outstanding comic timing and loves to make people laugh. Jessie complains the loudest about her inability to write, but just finished a section on poetry in her English Literature class and had to write about something personal. Her choice of her aunt dealing with bi-polar issues, blew me away, and made me cry. I have included both of these tonight as a testament that even on a rough, lonely day, without my husband here to hug me, we are doing something right. The sacrifices we are making will be worth the result of our kids who are strong communicators and caring human beings.


I AM
by John Johnson

I am as active as waves on a windy beach.
I am as cool as the spring breeze,
Gently blowing across the forest floor.
I am as bright as the sun is on a cloudless summer day.
I am strong as a current in a fast flowing river.
I am as fast as a devastating hurricane.
I am also as quiet as the predator stalking its prey.
I am as independent as a tree in a vast sandy desert.
I am as hard-working as worms in the soil.
But I am also as blind as a one eye Jaguar
In the darkest of nights.
Who am I?
I AM JOHN

Where Are You?
by Jessica Johnson

Where are you?
I closed my eyes for one second
And you are gone
Where are you?

Where are you?
I can see you,
Hair, red as an exotic bird’s feather
Wearing your clothes like a clam’s shell
Your body is here
Where are you?

Where are you?
Your smile is gone,
Disappeared like a snake into the underbrush
Your eyes are empty, a hollow nest, waiting for your return
Where are you?

Where are you?
Sometimes you are a monkey,
Loud, voicing your opinion
And others times a predator, stalking your prey
As quiet as can be
Where are you?

Where are you?
The things you said tore my heart apart,
Like a shark ripping its food into pieces
I yearn for you to come back,
As a starved wolf would a sheep
Where are you?

Where are you?
This is not you
This parasite sucking away
I try and find you,
Like a mother penguin searches for her baby
Where are you?

Where are you?
Your tender soul,
As fragile as a new-born chick,
Is nowhere to be found
Where are you?

Where are you?
You do not want my help finding your way back
You are as independent as an arctic fox,
Surviving alone, in the wild
Where are you?

Where are you?
Will you ever return?
Will you ever be the same again?
Where are you?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Comment here!

