kariskhaos


My son is taking the SAT


My oldest son, Isaac will take the SAT test tomorrow. I have always had mixed emotions about this test. I personally hated it. It is weird for me to think that my child will be taking a test I took twenty-eight years ago. I know the questions are different and there have been changes over the years but my emotional reaction is still the same; YUK. I also think, in this day and age, with all our technological advances, we could surely come up with a better system than this.

Isaac is not concerned, I was a wreck. Isaac knows that though colleges still value and often require the results, it will be taken into consideration with all his other grades, activities, volunteer work and who knows what else. When I was in school, it was the most important determining factor in your acceptance to college.

Through the years much debating has gone on about the testing. Is it geared towards white wealthy students? Is it designed for the male brain not the female? If you can afford the classes offered to take the test does this truly make you a better candidate for college or just ‘cheat the system’? I do not know the answer. I do not even know the true question, but when I asked what the SAT was, this is what I found on the official website.

What is the SAT®?
While high school grades are a very useful indicator of how students will perform in college, there is great variation in grading standards and course rigor within and across high schools. More than 80 years ago the College Board created the first standardized college entrance test to help colleges and universities identify students who could succeed at their institutions and to connect students with educational opportunities beyond high school.
Today, the SAT is the benchmark standardized assessment of the critical reading, mathematical reasoning, and writing skills students have developed over time and that they need to be successful in college. Each year, more than two million students take the SAT. Nearly every college in America uses the test as a common and objective scale for evaluating a student’s college readiness.

Gosh after reading that who wouldn’t want to take it? Sign me up.

I volunteer at my kids high school. I mentor junior and seniors about the next steps after high school. I am glad that colleges are getting away from this being such a huge factor in admissions. I am also thankful that there is the ACT that embraces the same concept, just a little bit differently. There is not one test that can possibly determine readiness for college in three hours and forty-five minutes. It is good to have a marker, and I know there is no perfect system or test. Mostly, I am glad that it is Isaac, not me, taking the test tomorrow.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Comment here!

