kariskhaos


Idiom’s and Other Language Nonsense
March 30, 2012, 10:04 pm
Filed under: entertainment, humor, Parenting, Teenagers | Tags: , , , ,

The English language is a very odd thing.  It makes little sense, is hard to learn and then we throw in all these weird sayings on top of everything else.  Jessie was just complaining about the ‘ “A” for Effort idiom.’ Her mind gets why the saying works but her sense of rightness says it should be an “E” for effort, after all it does begin with E. My biggest one has always been ‘You can’t have your cake and eat it too’ Why would you ever have cake if you were not going to eat it, that is just silliness.

I asked John if he had one that bugged him and he said, not a saying so much, but the concept of Diet Soda made him crazy.  Why? Well the chemicals in it to make it calorie free are worse for you than if you had just had the sugar loaded one any way, no seriously, he tells me, its true.  Isaac chimed in with his being ‘to make a long story short’ because his teachers always say it and then it is still way too long.

I know that there are logical explanations for where most of these came from, but I still think it is odd.  Scotty always call me on it when I say ‘ six and one half-dozen the other’, so you mean the same thing right?  ‘The best thing since sliced bread’ by now I think we could have come up with something better than sliced bread.  Jessie also mentioned ‘give 110%’  that is just not logically possible.  Then one of my all time favorite idiom’s is ‘Did you wake up on the wrong side of the bed’  is that even possible?

Any way language is a funny thing, just knowing the letters or words is not actually all that helpful at times.  I included a few picture puzzles, maybe you can figure them out, then tell me where in the world that saying came from. My kids said just google it, when did google become a word?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Spoiler alert for other people commenting! These are the ones I managed to figure out (without cheating, I promise!)
-See for yourself
-Once in a blue moon
-Tickled pink
-Catch some Z’s
-The cat’s out of the bag
-Too funny for words

The 2 top ones on the right, I can’t figure out for the life of me lol
As for their meanings, you should check out this site: http://www.phrases.org.uk/ They’ve got the meaning of almost every saying and idiom in existence 🙂

Great post!

Comment by Randomdeviations

thanks for reading my blog and taking the time to comment. The top right one is one of my favorites because of its cleverness. It is “painless operation”

The other one is very subtle and maybe a bit of a reach but “wrong end of the stick”

Thanks again for stopping by, have a great day!

Comment by Kari

What a great set of questions from your children, Kari. The funny thing is that idioms are language-specific, ie, they don’t translate to other languages. If you say “It’s raining cats and dogs” to an Italian…. they’ll duck!!
As for Google as a noun and a verb, it doesn’t exist in French officially because M. Sarkosy is a stickler for sticking to French. So they have to say “doing a research on the internet” instead. One of the rarities about the English language is its ability to evolve and embrace and invent. In the UK, we really should have been speaking French since 1066, but due to many factors (I won’t “put this in a nutshell” or “give you a thumbnails sketch”, but I will “cut a long story short”), we didn’t ,and now this nonsensical, musical mish-mash of a language is across the globe.x

Comment by skyonfire17

wow, thanks for all the great information. It is very true about being language specific and so the fun begins. I did not know the information about France but very interesting all the same!

thanks for taking the time to respond, I love hearing from you!,
It is a small world after all…lol

Comment by Kari




Comment here!

