kariskhaos


Saturday Story Time: Rated PG
April 14, 2012, 11:00 pm
Filed under: blessings, humor, love, Parenting, Teenagers | Tags: , , , ,

Saturday Story Time: Rated PG

We were in the car talking as I drove him to practice across town. Christian who is fifteen, was asking about everything under the sun, as always. Was I a good kid growing up? Did I get frustrated with my parents? How had Dad and I stayed together for so many years? Now that he was gone during the week, did we still have sex?

That one stopped me for a minute. It did not embarrass me to answer, however it reminded me of when I was in my twenties, and for the first time I asked my mom if she and my dad still made love. I thought they were ancient, and though I knew the answer was probably yes, I was still naive enough, to want to know. So when Christian asked me, I immediately felt old. Yes, Christian your dad and I still make love. We still really like it too.

“Mom, I thought so but,( you can hear his mind ticking as he figures
it out) I mean, well is that why you… Forget it, I don’t want to know”. No, he really does not want to know. Yet he does. And here is the wonderful, perplexing conversation of sexual awareness and your children. How much information is too much, how much is not enough, should it be a conversation with the dad and boys and mom and girls?

I am no expert on this. I have tried to be open-minded and answer questions as they come with the simplest answer possible. I was given the advice once, that your kids will ask the question, just answer the question. If they want more information they will keep asking, but keep it as simple and straight forward as possible. Don’t give them more information than they are asking for.

The reality is I was so flattered and honored that he trusted me enough to ask that I do not even know for sure what I said. I do remember asking if it was awkward for him to talk to me about it and he said “No, not really, I just want straight answers, not for it to be made into this big religious debate. I mean is sex good? Why do people wait till they are married? What do movie stars do when they are in a scene that they kiss or are naked with someone in the movie and they are married to someone else?” The questions are endless and varied, and some are so dang funny I have to fight everything in me not to laugh as he asks.

We are now in the parking lot and the conversation ends with him asking why Jessie and all girls are so moody. Are you moody too, mom? That I say with a straight face, is for sure a question you will have to bring up with your dad.

20120414-224935.jpg

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Comment here!

