kariskhaos


Just another day in paradise?
April 24, 2012, 10:30 pm
Filed under: Parenting | Tags: , , ,

For every four or five normal days in my world there seems to be a negative force in the universe that on the sixth day cause complete and total havoc. I was still patting myself on the back from my great realization of self care when I got up this morning. It was a sunny day and I had slept pretty good. That and right now as I write this were the only calm parts of my day.

Having four teenagers and taking care of an almost three year old, is of course gonna be busy. I have a great sense of humor, a fair amount of patience and am usually pretty flexible. I have chosen this life, I ask for most of the chaos that comes my way and try not to whine. Today is one of the days that the saying “it is five o’clock some where” is made for. By 11:00 am I was ready for a drink.

You know the days when every little simple item on your to do list takes more energy and time than they should. If it is not one thing, it was another. Nothing serious, kids needing an extra ride, having the dropsies on your clean kitchen floor, the dog getting let in with wet muddy paws prancing around the whole damn house before you realize some one did not wipe his paws. Putting the wash in the machine and forgetting to start it, so when you go to transfer it to the dryer you can not figure out why they are so dry.

Every detail you think was worked out from the day before is now tossed to the wind, and you need to start over. Today reminded me of one of my favorite country songs “Just another day in paradise” by Phil Vassar. I reprint it here and hope that even in the stupid things I can remember how blessed I am to be living this life of privilege and choice.

The kids screaming, phone ringing
Dog barking at the mailman bringing
That stack of bills – overdue
Good morning baby, how are you?
Got a half hour, quick shower
Take a drink of milk but the milk’s gone sour
My funny face makes you laugh
Twist the top on and I put it back
There goes the washing machine
Baby, don’t kick it.
I promise I’ll fix it
Long about a million other things

Well, it’s ok. It’s so nice
It’s just another day in paradise
Well, there’s no place that
I’d rather be
Well, it’s two hearts
And one dream
I wouldn’t trade it for anything
And I ask the Lord every night
For just another day in paradise

Friday, you’re late
Guess we’ll never make our dinner date
At the restaurant you start to cry
Baby, we’ll just improvise
Well, plan B looks like
Dominoes’ pizza in the candle light
Then we’ll tippy toe to our room
Make a little love that’s overdue
But somebody had a bad dream
Mama and daddy
Can me and my teddy
Come in to sleep in between?

Yeah it’s ok. It’s so nice.
It’s just another day in paradise.
Well, there’s no place that
I’d rather be
Well, it’s two hearts
And one dream
I wouldn’t trade it for anything
And I ask the Lord every night
For just another day in paradise

Well, it’s ok. It’s so nice.
It’s just another day in paradise.
Well, there’s no place that
I’d rather be
Two hearts
And one dream
I wouldn’t trade it for anything
And I ask the Lord every night
For just another day in paradise

For just another day in paradise
Well, it’s the kids screaming. The phone ringing
Just another day
Well, it’s Friday. You’re late
Oh yeah, it’s just another day in paradise

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Comment here!

