kariskhaos


Forever and Ever Amen

“So this is your friend who has a healthy marriage? The one who is still in love, and her husband is great?” a new acquaintance asked my good friend when we were introduced this week. “Yep, she’s the one.” I smiled, and said yes that’s me, twenty-one years on Friday. “Wow, that’s pretty incredible these days, congratulations!” she said with a sense of awe.

When you are raised by parents who have been together for over fifty years and your in-laws have been together for close to sixty, twenty-one does not seem like that big of a deal. When I get out with friends or hear the statistics of divorce, or listen to most of my kids friends I realize that this truly is a big deal. We are the exception to the rule, and in this generation an anomaly.

Twenty-one years ago, Scott and I were Aspen, Colorado. April 27th, 1991 with an unexpected spring snow storm, and our family and friends gathered in a small chapel we said the following vows to each other.


I Scott/Kari receive you Kari/Scott
to be my husband/wife

You are God’s gift to me
I give myself to you
I will work for your personal growth
I will work for your spiritual growth I will live to increase your joy
And meet your needs
I promise to love you,
Honor you,
Trust you,
Serve you,
And forgive you.
I will be true and loyal to you
I will keep these vows
In sickness or health
In poverty or wealth
For as long as we both shall live
Where you go, I will go
Where you live, I will live
Your family will be my family
And we will walk with God together.

Marriage is not easy, it is the hardest thing you will ever commit to in your life. It is my greatest accomplishment, testimony and joy. When we got married the Randy Travis song “Forever and Ever Amen” was number one in the country charts. It has been our theme song and will continue to be, forever and ever amen.

You may think that I’m talkin’ foolish
You’ve heard that I’m wild and I’m free
You may wonder how, I can promise you now
This love that I feel for you always will be

But you’re not just time that I’m killin’
I’m no longer one of those guys
As sure as I live, this love that I give
Is gonna be yours until the day that I die

Oh, baby! I’m gonna love you forever, forever and ever, Amen!
As long as old men sit n’ talk about the weather
As long as old women sit n’ talk about old men
If you wonder how long I’ll be faithful
I’ll be happy to tell you again
I’m gonna love you forever and ever, forever and ever, Amen!

They say that time takes it’s toll on a body
Makes a young girl’s brown hair turn gray
But, honey, I don’t care, I ain’t in love with your hair
And if it all fell out, well, I’d love you anyway

They say time can play tricks on a memory
Make people forget things they knew
Well, it’s easy to see, it’s happenin’ to me
I’ve already forgotten every woman but you

Oh, darlin’! I’m gonna love you forever, forever and ever, Amen!
As long as old men sit n’ talk about the weather
As long as old women sit n’ talk about old men
If you wonder how long I’ll be faithful
Well, just listen to how this song ends
I’m gonna love you forever and ever, forever and ever, Amen!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congratulations you two!! I’m impressed that you remember your vows. The cheat sheet of Pete’s vows ended up in his pocket and went through the dry cleaners after the wedding, so our long standing joke has been that neither of knows what he promised : )

Love how you integrated some of Ruth in your vows.

Blessings on your day!

Comment by Barb Stoefen

I did not have it memorized Barb, I had a program from the wedding with the vows printed in it! Thanks for the love 🙂

Comment by Kari




Comment here!

