kariskhaos


Saturday Story Time: “Pickle Chiffon Pie” and the Reason I am a Writer
May 19, 2012, 10:18 pm
Filed under: blessings, books, child care, humor, love, Parenting | Tags: , , , ,


Saturday Story Time: “Pickle Chiffon Pie” and the reason I am a writer

“Now there’s something you don’t see every day” thought Bernard. “But he might frighten the Princess if I brought him back. I have two more days- I’ll look a bit more.” This is a quote from the book ‘Pickle Chiffon Pie” by Jolly Roger Bradfield .This book more than any other is the reason I am a writer. I have a large children’s book collection. I have shared about my quest to find a book I remembered from childhood, but could not remember the title in another blog. I was blessed to have a mother who read to her children. My mom loves books, and clearly impressed this on all three of her daughters.

“Pickle Chiffon Pie” was written in 1967, the year I was born. I do not know if she bought it for me or if it was a gift from someone but it seems even more special that it was written the year I was born, and we have the first printing of it. It is a magical story about a king, his daughter, and his love for Pickle Chiffon Pie. It is humorous and the illustrations are wonderful. It is long for a children’s book and that may have been part of the draw to request it as I knew it would postpone bedtime a bit longer than the average book. Yet, even as much as I loved hearing my mom read, if it was not interesting I would rather go to bed with my imagination to entertain me, than listen to a boring book.

Bradfield had five kids of his own, and I am sure they were a huge key to his success as a writer. This particular book had everything a little girl needed to keep her attention. Princes and a princess, a quest, a competition, giants, witches, ogres, and love. Illustrations that captured your imagination and heart with there bright colors and sweet portrayals. I am not sure I could tell you one specific thing about the book that was so special or unique but it was the story telling as a whole that sparked my interest in writing and impacted how I write today.

One of the things I love about the book is that although their are many interesting characters there is not a ‘bad guy’. The book does not have a hero and a villain but instead a cast of real characters that everyone can relate to. No one is banished, hurt, or left out of the story at the end. You are rooting for everyone, and in the end, even though there is a competition to see who will get to marry the princess no one loses, and all are at the wedding. That kind of ending is truly happy.

When I write, I try to make sure I have those same elements I found in “Pickle Chiffon Pie”. There are no bad guys only interesting characters. Humor and vivid illustrations with words or pictures are very important. Kindness and love always win the day and life would not be complete without dessert. As a child I loved this book, as an adult I cherish this book as the inspiration and catalyst that gave me the courage to find my voice as a writer.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Comment here!

