kariskhaos


Whimsical Wednesday: The Peony

When I was a little girl my parents took me to the Butchart Gardens in Canada.  I was enthralled by the winding paths, the green, perfectly manicured grass and more flowers than I had ever seen in my whole life. In a past blog, I mentioned my love of flowers, I believe these gardens left such an impact on me and my five senses that to this day if you mention a beautiful garden my mind immediately goes here.  It was here that I was first introduced to the Peony.  It was here that I understood the intense and wonderful creativity of God in a new way.

When we moved to Bend in September of 2001, we Had no idea what plants or flowers had been planted.  It was such a wonderful gift that first June at our home to discover six Peony plants. I am not sure why they thrive in my yard but they do and I love it! I think if I were a flower I would be a bright pink Peony.

When I went to the web to find out about these flowers here is what I learned!

The meaning and symbolism of the Peony

With a recorded history that dates back thousands of years, it’s not surprising that even the mythology surrounding the origin of the peony has multiple versions. One legend has it that the peony is named after Paeon, a physician to the gods, who received the flower on Mount Olympus from the mother of Apollo. And another tells the story of that same physician who was “saved” from the fate of dying as other mortals by being turned into the flower we know today as the peony.

The traditional floral symbol of China, the state flower of Indiana, and the 12th wedding anniversary flower, peonies are known as the flower of riches and honor. With their lush, full, rounded bloom, peonies embody romance and prosperity and are regarded as an omen of good fortune and a happy marriage.

The following pictures are from my garden and my mother in-laws with a few from Butchart Gardens off their website.  May your Whimsy be filled with the beauty of the Peony

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Comment here!

