kariskhaos


Timing is Everything

‘They’ say timing is everything. So I guess ‘they’ would be right tonight. I was in Eugene with Scott for the last two nights and he got off early this afternoon for us to be able to get back to Bend. We were in our newest and best car. It is a 2008 silver mini-cooper, which gets great gas mileage and is very fun to drive. It has been a huge blessing for Scott as the miles have been adding up traversing across the mountains twice a week.

We had just made it over the mountain pass and were about 40 miles from home. The engine light came on and it started to sputter. A message from the computer told us to drive moderately and please get it checked immediately. Scott then shared some very nice words as he turned on his hazard lights and slowed down. We managed to make it to the outskirts of Sisters and pull into the Mc.Donald’s parking lot.

I called AAA roadside assistance, and then my daughter. Isaac, our only licensed driver was picking up his brother John from working out, but when he got home they would be on the way. I had done some shopping in Eugene and the car was full, really full. We unloaded the car, marveling at how much it could actually hold and waited for both the tow truck and our kids to rescue us.

We sat down on the curb in the sunshine and Scott mentioned how this is not going to ruin my vacation. I smiled because it is times like this I know I married the best guy ever. My dad would have been very angry and somehow even though it was nobody’s fault we would have all felt guilty for somehow causing it to happen. Scott being the eternal optimist said “Well the good news is we made it to Sisters, we have a child old enough to drive, and more than one car. All things considered we are doing pretty well.”

The car got towed, Isaac and Jessie came before the sun set, and we got home about an hour and a half later than planned. My biggest worry was that we were going to have margarita’s for the fourth of July party at our house and I was not going to make it home in time to get to the liquor store before it closed. Thank God for cell phones and neighbors, I called her and explained our situation and then said, Isaac is coming to get us but would you be willing to do me another favor? Being the good neighbor she is, she willingly went and got me tequila so my celebration could be complete.

‘They’ say timing is everything. So I guess ‘they’ are right. What could have been a nightmare was a minor inconvenience. Why give anything negative more time than it deserves?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Comment here!

