kariskhaos


Day nine on my island, Sweet Success

Day nine on my island, Sweet Success

Another sunny morning with ferry horns welcoming me to a new day. Today is the day I fix the sink. I get up, get dressed, and get back under the sink. I assess the damage and take stock of what needs to be done. I figure I have one more college try in me, and then I will truly give up. I go down to the bakery to get my coffee and some advice from my round table of wisdom. They enjoy my animated relay of the happenings thus far. They sympathize, offer a few suggestions and then ask where my home is, should they find someone who could help.

I tell them my address and they say oh you are in the Medcalf house. I smile and say no, I am a Medcalf. I am Jerry Medcalf’s granddaughter. Is that so eh? Well then good, you should be able to fix this, he could fix anything. There is laughter, and talk about my grandfather, my heart soars. One man comments about my grandpa’s pipe and how he was never without it. I smile as I recall the smell, and his presence seems larger than life. This is why I love the island. This is my history, this is where my grandfather was most alive, and most known.

I say my goodbyes with the promise of coming back to tell them what happens tomorrow. I head off to the hardware store. I explain my drama, I am shown what I need, told briefly how to do it, and sent on my way with the remark that they are here if I need them. I now have a pipe cutter, a new valve, a new hose, and the lingering smell of my grandfathers pipe to encourage me. I come home, change my clothes, get out the clean towels from yesterday’s flood and set to work.

The pipe is cut, the new hose on, the thread tape placed, but the new valve will not fit. I try a few different things, grab my sister who is now up and we once again head to the hardware store. The kind man makes some comment about my pipe cut not being straight, sells me some sand paper to sand the edges, and once again assures me that I can do this. With a small chuckle, and a we are here if you need us, off we go again. Now I do need to mention how beautiful I am looking right now, I have not had a shower in four days, I have been flooded on, banged up, dropped a tool on my forehead and probably a bit wild-eyed. I am sure he was hoping we would not be back.

I go back to the sink, climb under that damn cabinet and set to work. One flood later, a few more swear words, and I have triumphed. The sink is working. The hot and cold water are on to the house and the cabinet under the sink is dry. Could it be true? Did I Kari Johnson conquer the leak, and prevail under trying circumstances to come out the other end of the tunnel without the use of a plumber? My sister is very impressed, my kids not so much. I ask for recognition of my great accomplishment and get a very mild “great mom,” then Christian pulls through and says maybe you need a new business card with “Kari Plumber Johnson” on it. Maybe I do.

20120718-090822.jpg

20120718-090835.jpg

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congratulations, Kari! Women can do it all (we hope).

You’re funny.

Ann in Glen Ellen

Comment by Anonymous

It’s very straightforward to find out any topic on net as compared to books, as I found this paragraph at this web page.

Comment by scott tucker cornell university

Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this post plus
the rest of the website is very good.

Comment by http://minu.me




Comment here!

