kariskhaos


Managing Monday’s: Blog Post Number 365: A Goal Achieved

You should write a book, was a much repeated comment from friends and family. This was often said with a laugh, or a sympathetic smile as I would share one of the many adventures from my life. I have always loved to write and telling stories came fairly easy, but a book felt very overwhelming. A friend of mine suggested I try blogging. The rest as they say is history.

With the help of a good friend from my past, Melissa Ansley, Kari’s Khaos was created. I set the goal that I would blog daily from my birthday for one year. Today is the 365th day of blogs. It has been an experience, a wild ride, a dream come true, and sometimes a total pain in the ass. I wanted to get in the habit of writing again, find out if any one really wanted to hear anything I had to say, and share the good, bad, ugly and usually funny moments from my chaotic life.

I just went back to my profile and below is what I wrote a year ago.

It is my 44th birthday today. I am embarking on a new adventure. Kari’s Khaos has been born. I am committing myself to one year of daily blogging. Many requests for me to write a book, or to teach a class on parenting, or for advice on various topics ranging from menu planning to trans-racial adoption as well as good friends just calling me to hear what is going on in my life so they can feel better about the relative calm in theirs has led me to this adventure.

Do you remember the movie City Slickers with Billy Crystal? He and two of his buddies go on this cattle drive. In the scene I am thinking of he is helping a cow give birth, he has his arm inside the cow’s uterus, is covered in dirt and he pulls out his hand slimed with blood and cow birth and screams “ This was not in the brochure”. I think parenting is a lot like that. In raising my four children I have thought to my self many times that same thing. Then I think, wait, what brochure?

I am a mother of four teenagers. Three boys and one girl. Two are adopted from Liberia, Africa at ages 4 and 5. John is legally blind, Jessie is a TAG student,
Christian is an amazing athlete and Isaac is a great overall normal teenager. All my kids go to public school, I have had to fight and learn the system so my vast array of needs have been met. I love to cook, read and laugh. My husband of 21 years is my best friend and strongest believer in my writing ability.

I hope my experiences with raising kids, working and being all that we are asked to be in this highly social, multiple tasking world will encourage you, and help you see even at life’s worst moments, there are others who have survived, and lived to tell about it. Welcome to Kari’s Khaos comments are welcome and new friends a huge benefit to this blog.

It has been a great journey, thank you for being a part of it. Stay tuned for my next adventure and keep laughing, sometimes it is all we can do!
For now I will celebrate my accomplishment with a drink!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congratulations, Kari! What an amazing commitment it was to write a blog EVERY day — and you did it!! You even wrote on the couple of days you weren’t able to write. I can’t remember doing anything in my lifetime that was EVERY day for a whole year, except…except reading your blog! I read EVERY day.

Great job, my friend. You’ve done an amazing thing and you rocked at it. Oh…and happy birthday tomorrow!

Comment by Barb Stoefen

Thanks so much Barb! You have been a huge support and inspiration to me

Comment by Kari

I have loved every minute of your kaotic, krazy life! It has actually made me snort at times because it was so dang funny! Your children, your husband, your siblings, your community…are richer for your crazy outlook on life! Laugh with wild abandonment, my friend…everyone should have a Kari in their lives! Here’s to your next adventure!

Comment by Gerri Kretz

It’s been an honor to share the year with you. I look forward to your next project.

Comment by Kay

I hope you keep blogging Kari! If not daily, then at least to punctuate the exiting times and reflect on some of your other family stories. I really have learned so much from you over the last year, and shed a tear of laughter or two along the way.

Let me know if you want help turning your year of blogging into a keepsake book. Easy (but kind of a pain in the rear) to do using Blurb.com.

Comment by Alissa




Comment here!

